Holiday

Day Date Holiday Comments
Thursday February 21 Language Martyrs’ Day International Mother Language Day
Sunday March 17 Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s birthday Father of Nation of Bangladesh
Tuesday March 26 Independence Day Declaration of Independence from Pakistan in 1971
Sunday April 14 Bengali New Year Festival marking the start of the Bengali year
Sunday April 21 Shab e-Barat Night of Records
Wednesday May 01 May Day International Labour Day
Saturday May 18 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha. Observed on the day of the full moon in May
Friday May 31 Jumatul Bidah Last Friday of the month of Ramadan
Sunday June 02 Night of Destiny Celebrated on the 27th day of Ramadan
Tuesday June 04 Eid ul-Fitr End of Ramadan
Wednesday June 05 Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Thursday June 06 Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Sunday August 11 Eid ul-Adha Date varies on Lunar cycle
Monday August 12 Eid ul-Adha Day 2 Date varies on Lunar cycle
Tuesday August 13 Eid ul-Adha Day 3 Date varies on Lunar cycle
Thursday August 15 National Mourning Day
Friday August 23 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday September 10 Ashura 10th day of Muharram
Tuesday October 08 Durga Puja
Sunday November 10 Eid e-Milad-un Nabi
Monday December 16 Victory Day Commemorates the surrender of the Pakistani army to the Mukti Bahini
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day